Life is such a wonderful gift, but not as many people say, that there are so many things to be enjoyed and relished, and it is so short, and so it is precious.

In my understanding, Life is about finding. If at all some day, one loses the interest in finding, the life stops there. One may continue to live, but without life. According to Hinduism, a person’s soul rolls through lots and lots of births to find and experience different and new things. I also believe that concept, but having said that, life is still short and valuable because there is so much more to find!

Life is a gift also because, it helps those who want to find. There is, however, another  criterion attached to the seeker. And that is the ability to ‘keep oneself open to knowledge’. If one wants to discover, but he is not eligible to recognize and consume the knowledge, it is as good as not having any yearning.

“Be open, and patient; there is so much available to be known” has been one of the main mantras planted in me, by my guru. Here, the usage ‘planted’ has significance.

Planting involves not just opening the earth and laying the seeds, but encompasses a set of responsibilities -cultivating the land, sowing the seeds, watering it, et cetera, and mostly importantly, making sure the survival extends to a fully grown healthy tree.

A guru does exactly that, to a disciple. He doesn’t alone teach and preach, but also ensures a discipline understands it, and lives upto it. The success of planting also depends on how ready the land is. So too, the amount of knowledge that is gained depends on how sincere and open the disciple is.

So, my lesson was, that I should try to keep my mind as wide and open as possible, so that I don’t miss whatever that is offered to me by life.

I also realized that there were two other conditions to fulfill. First, Knowledge doesn’t come in always the standard way, not through a study material received by post. It comes unannouncing, even from the most unnoticeable corner. And the second, is that I have to conquer one major hindrant – my ego, clouded with my conclusions, my opinions,  dogmas (formed within or thrusted by my surroundings).

One thought on “Life – Part I

  1. There! i love this post… the insights earned through experience and observation… I always like your style of writing and delivery but lately I notice few typos and it is very upsetting…”disciple” not discipline :| Hari, please read once before you publish…

    All said and done, I am thrilled that you have started to update your blog regularly… Wish all my friends do that too.

Leave a Reply

